Frequently Asked DUI Questions
What is the Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) limit in Arizona?
For people aged 21 and over, the legal BAC limit to be operating a vehicle is .08%. However, if your driving is obviously impaired and your BAC is less than .08%, you can still be charged with DUI.
What is the Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) limit for someone under the age of 21?
Arizona operates under a strict zero-tolerance law for persons under the age of 21 caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Even if you show no signs of driving or judgment impairment, you can still be charged with DUI if you have any detectable alcohol in your bloodstream.
I was arrested for DUI in Phoenix. What should I do?
You need to contact an experienced Phoenix DUI lawyer immediately to ensure that your rights are upheld. Don't try to fight a DUI charge alone or with an inexperienced lawyer. Attorney Anthony Knowles is a former law enforcement officer who knows the system and is willing to offer you expert legal counsel no matter what your DUI case involves.
What is the minimum jail time for a DUI conviction? Minimum fines?
The minimum mandatory sentence for a DUI charge where you were impaired even to the slightest degree is 10 days. However, if you complete an alcohol education program, 9 of those 10 days can be suspended. You will also face a minimum $250 fine, plus about $400 more in other charges.
What is an ignition interlock device?
If you are charged with Extreme DUI, you must equip your car with an
ignition interlock device, which tests the alcohol on the driver's breath. To start your vehicle, you must blow into a small alcohol sensor located on your car's dashboard. If the sensor indicates that your BAC is above a particular preset level, you will be unable to start your car. Some ignition interlock devices also require a new test every few minutes to ensure that an inebriated driver didn't just get another person to blow into the device to get the car started.
What is Extreme DUI?
If you are operating a vehicle and your BAC is .15% and above, you can be charged with Extreme DUI. You are faced with the possibility of 30 consecutive days in jail, over $1500 in fines and at least a 90 day license suspension. You may be placed on probation and required to received alcohol education and treatment. You also will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle.
I've heard that I can refuse a test that an officer wants me to take. What happens if I do?
You can refuse to take field tests such as touching your finger to your nose or walking in a straight line. There is no law that requires you to take such a field test. However, having an Arizona driver's license legally implies that you must agree to take a urine, breath or blood test. If you refuse to take a urine, breath or blood test, your license will be automatically suspended for minimally one year even if you are not convicted with DUI. Don't forget that you can always exercise your right to legal representation. The Knowles Law Firm is very familiar with Arizona DUI law, and we can help you make the correct decision.
If I've been arrested for DUI, do I need an attorney?
You are not required by law to have an attorney, but it is absolutely in your best interests to hire a lawyer who concentrates in Phoenix DUI/DWI cases. At the Knowles Law Firm, our focus is on such cases and helping you to achieve the best possible verdict. We have the familiarity with the court system that you need, as well as an extremely strong legal foundation on which to build your defense.
Contact the Knowles Law Firm now to discuss your Phoenix DUI case!