Phoenix DUI Attorney
Arizona Penalties for Drunk Driving
Arizona has very severe penalties for DUI charges. Even a first conviction can land you in jail, and may also cause you to lose your license or even your vehicle. For these reasons and more, you must act quickly to protect your rights and fight your charges.
Do not face any DUI charges without contacting a Phoenix DUI lawyer from the Knowles Law Firm to fight for you. Attorney Anthony Knowles is an experienced
DUI defense attorney who has assisted countless individual fight their DUI charges successfully. If you are arrested for a first-offense DUI in Phoenix, you may be subject to the following penalties if you are convicted:
- Jail time;
- Minimum fine of $250, plus additional fees;
- License suspension for at least 90 days;
- Alcohol education treatment; and
- Community service
You can expect to face harsher sentences for an Extreme, Super Extreme or aggravated DUI in Phoenix. If you are convicted of these higher level offenses, you might incur a felony conviction along with 30 consecutive days in jail, 90 days to 3 years of a driver's license suspension, over $1500 in fines, mandatory installation of an
ignition interlock device and up to 5 years of probation.
Penalties for Refusing a Chemical Test
There are harsh penalties under Arizona DUI law for those who refuse a chemical test from a law enforcement officer. Many people do not anticipate that they will face a one year driver's license suspension for refusing a chemical test. If you have refused a test and are now facing a driver's license suspension, you may be eligible for a special restricted driver's license after the first 90 days. It is wise to contact a lawyer before you make the decision to resist a chemical test.
Avoiding DUI Penalties in Arizona
When dealing with any level of DUI charge, the most important protective measure you can take is to contact a Phoenix DUI attorney immediately after your arrest. When you call the Knowles Law Firm, an attorney will review the evidence against you and immediately begin working on building your defense. Without a skilled lawyer on your side, you will be facing a prosecution who is determined to convict you and who has the full support of law enforcement on their side. The mandatory minimum jail terms are based on a person's BAC, and are as follows;
- BAC under .150 - 1 day
- BAC of .150 and below .200 (new laws) - 30 days
- BAC of .200 and above - 45 days
You deserve a powerful attorney fighting for your side. Attorney Anthony Knowles has assisted countless individuals with all levels of DUI charges and is a well-known and respected defense attorney with strong negotiation skills.