News sources report that those who have been convicted of driving under the influence in Scottsdale, Arizona will not have the option of serving their sentence under house arrest until October of 2010. At this time, Scottsdale City Court officials are working with city officials to find an electronic monitoring vendor for the program.
In April, the Scottsdale City Council approved the house arrest program for convicted DUI offenders as court officials said it may be a way for the city to cut costs. In the state of Arizona, cities have been allowed to have home-detention programs for years and municipal courts have taken advantage of such programs.
Once the program goes into effect, people who are convicted of DUI will have to serve time in Maricopa County Jail. This costs $172 the first day and $72 each subsequent day. After 15 days have passed, convicted DUI offenders would be allowed to serve the remainder of their jail time at home. The price for a home detention costs approximately $100 to set up and then $10 to $18 for subsequent days, which is quite a savings compared to jail time.
It is important to note that not all DUI offenders will be eligible for house arrest. People who are ineligible are violent offenders and domestic violence offenders.
Contact the Knowles Law Firm to speak with a Phoenix DUI lawyer today!